cinco de mayo, and nothing to do with it.


I’m not quite sure why I’m writing. I think the important thing is just that I am. The hope being that if I just start typing away, the random thoughts will somehow begin to take focus, and this evenings blogging effort will actually become a worthwhile read for anyone who comes across it. So far, it doesn’t look good. 🙂

This weekend was the last that I will be able to see of one of my best friends for about six weeks. He just finished his third year of pharmacy school, and will be spending some time at home in Seattle and S.C.U.B.A. diving in Hawaii. So this past weekend was spent mostly with him (when I wasn’t working), one of our good friends from Jiu Jitsu, and his class in pharmacy school. It was a really good weekend; the sort that makes you realize how lucky you are to have certain people in your life. Kind of sad, in that he will be back home for a while, but exciting in that it will only be for six weeks this year instead of almost four months.

Outside of that I’ve been mostly riding my bike and studying. I’m sure anyone who follows me on twitter knows exactly what I am up to at all times, since I update incessantly. I don’t seem to be able to get enough bike riding in during a 24 hour day. I swear that I could spend about 8 hours each day riding, and be totally cool with it. Provided that my body can handle it. Hmm, maybe I should ask some Tour De France guys for some steroids… In all seriousness though, the new-to-me bike that I picked up has been such a blessing. It is totally set up for jumping, so I don’t have to wince every time the shock bottoms out (it hasn’t yet 🙂 ), or get frustrated with the way it bunny-hops and handles in the air. Nope, this bike is not a XC bike. Not that I hate my XC bike, I just like this one more.

I checked out the dirt jumps that they have at Bandemer park in Ann Arbor, just off of N Main street right before you get to M-14. They seem pretty cool. It had been a while since I’d hit jumps like that, so I just stuck to the really small rolloers and the next bigger set. Nothing with a gap yet. It’s amazing how much tougher on your body dirt jumping is than just hopping off of stairs and ledges on campus! After just a couple of runs I’m ready to rest for a minute. Partly because of the rush and the fact that my heart is beating our of my chest, and partly because of actual muscles soreness. I love it! I definitely plan to spend a lot of time there this spring and summer. And to buy a helmet ASAP.

Today was my dad’s birthday, so I called and spoke with him really quickly while I was at work. I should probably head down and visit him, and run by my mother’s house, in the next few weeks here. It just seems like between work and school, the couple of hours I have scattered here and there aren’t really enough to do much besides escape on the bike for a minute. All of the hours out with friends do not count, because they are not during usual visiting hours. They are during sleeping hours, and that is a sacrifice I chose to make, ya dig? 😉

I guess I shouldn’t really spend too much time at this, since I have a mid-term tomorrow in one of my classes. I’m going to just throw up a couple of pics of the dirt jumps. Unfortunately I waited until it was almost dark, and I was too tired to do anything besides take pictures before I tried to take them, so they didn’t really turn out well. Whoops.

bandemer dirt jumps

bandemer dirt jumps2

~ by igobytony on May 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
